First Snow

Last week was Mito’s first snowfall of the year. Though everyone seems to be
very happy with the slight dusting of white powder that now covers the
lawns and parks, I find myself feeling very ambivalent about it. After
having lived in a city with as much snow as Winnipeg for as long as I have,
snow just doesn’t have quite the same appeal anymore I guess.

Foreigners tend to think that Canadians really enjoy winter weather and
winter sports, but I find that most of my friends are the opposite. We
dislike winter very much, due to the biting cold and risk of frostbite, and
tend to stay indoors rather than take part in winter sports like
snowboarding or ice skating. Winnipeg is very flat, so there are no
mountains to ski or snowboard on, and just being outdoors can lead to
painful frostbite or an inability to get warm again. Being outdoors is for
summer, where I am from.

So I hope everyone in Mito enjoys the little bit of snow that fell last
night; but I also hope that spring will be right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

