9th Annual Koga 7000 Step Shichifukujin Meguri

When: January 11th, 2015
Where: Koga Station West Exit Square, Koga (one minute walk from the West Exit)

20150111 Koga Shichifukujin Meguri 2

The Shichifukujin, or Seven Lucky Gods, are seven famous Shinto deities said to bring good luck. Their names are Ebisu, Daikokuten, Benzaiten, Fukurokuji, Hotei, Jurojin, and Bishamonten. Many places in Japan offer a pilgrimage in January to local shrines dedicated to the Shichifukujin.

The Koga 7000 Step Shichifukujin Meguri will take you to shrines all in walking distance of Koga Station. You can collect a stamp at each shrine and there will be Shichifuku tea, amazake (sweet sake), and freshly made mochi (rice cakes) available. Registration starts at 9:30am at the Koga Station West Exit Square and ends at 12pm, but you can walk between the shrines at your own pace (it takes roughly 2 hours). You will receive a map when you register (here is a digital copy). You are free to start and finish at any point you like.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s